Snapchat recently added a new live sharing functionality for its app through the Snap Map chosen connections.
The Live Location functionality allows users to share their locations with a friend for 15 minutes, one hour or 8 hours. It’s a direct way for people to keep tabs on each other, location-wise. The feature will be displayed within the chat window with the chosen connection, and a timer on the map shows the remaining time.
Snapchat users have been able to share their location via Snap Map since 2017. However, Live Sharing is more granular, and the user who chose to share his or her location can pause tracking any time without prompting a message or notification. It’s also defaulted to off, and may not be shared to all Snapchat friends at once.
Snapchat has partnered up with non-profit organization It’s On Us to provide the feature and as a way to keep young people safe.